Well friends, I didn’t make goal on Thursday.  Alas, Mother Nature interfered yet again, making me up .4 on the scale.  While I knew I was most likely going to be up due to my period, it was still a bummer.  I wanted to step on that scale and see that number and scream with joy that I would be able to FINALLY stop losing and start maintaining.  So now, I have 1.2 to lose to make it to goal.

The unfortunate thing (for the scale, anyway) is that this is the weekend before Christmas.  All told, R and I made it to 3 parties in two days, with another game night scheduled this evening.  I love my friends, and I love spending time with them, especially at this time of year.  However, the endless snacking isn’t good for a gal.  Yes, I am in charge of my own eating, but because I am so unbelievably hormonal right now, I tend to crave salty and sweet things, which means I WILL end up snacking.  All told, I was pretty good at all the parties so far.  I allowed myself a little splurge here and there, and most oft than not, I had a gut ache about 15 minutes later.  We were out pretty late last night at D’s holiday party.  Woke this morning with awful cramps and in a terrible mood, but am putting on the happy face.  A good night’s sleep tonight will do me good.  However, this afternoon, while doing the laundry, an 8-foot 2×4 fell on me.  Our laundry room, which is in an awful state due to all the house projects we are in the middle of, is also storing random 2×4’s.  One fell right on top of me.  My first reaction was to scream a thousand FUCKS, which I did.  Then I promptly burst into tears, tromping up the stairs to get a hug and kiss from R.  After, I had three chocolate-chip cookies and a glass of milk instead of the banana I had planned on.  I am ready for this period to be over.  It seems like the older I get, the more emotionally charged I get during this time of the month.  *UGH*

I know in a day or two, I will feel as right as rain!

I am, as I mentioned before, ready to be done with the losing part of this program.  This last couple of weeks has been hard.  My body is so cold ALL THE TIME, and my first reaction is to stuff it with food to make it warm again.  I’m pretty good at not listening to it, and fueling it with good things.  But because of my period, I get SO hungry, and it’s hard to NOT give it what it wants.  While I hope that I make goal on Thursday, I will not be bummed if I don’t.  It’s Christmas, for fucks sake.  If I want a few cookies, I’m going to allow myself to have them.  I have worked REALLY hard to get here, so I’m going to enjoy the holiday season.  I just hope my pants still fit when all is said and done!